Committee members

Standing Expression of Interest for Researcher Committee Members

The NSW Population and Health Services Research Ethics Committee (PHSREC) would like to invite researchers active in the fields of public health, population health, health economics, health services and clinical academic research to join the Committee.

This position provides a unique and prestigious opportunity to contribute to human research that meets the highest scientific and ethical standards. The position would be most suitable for mid-career to senior researchers. Training and mentoring are available.

The Committee meets 11 times per year at the Cancer Institute NSW located in Eveleigh (moving to St Leonards in August 2020). Meetings are held on the second or third Wednesday of each month, from 4pm to 6:30pm. Prospective members must be able to attend the majority of meetings in person, and should also able to allocate up to two hours of reading time in the week before the Meeting to review applications. Members are appointed for an initial period of one year and are not offered remuneration. Travel expenses to and from the meeting will be reimbursed.

To apply:

Please forward expressions of interest including Curriculum Vitae and details of two nominated referees to:

Manager, Research Ethics
NSW Population & Health Services Research Ethics Committee
Cancer Institute NSW


If you would like to discuss further or require additional information, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager, Research Ethics on (02) 8374 3610 or email

The current members of the NSW Population and Health Services Research Ethics Committee include experts in research and professional/clinical care, lay members, legal, pastoral and NSW Ministry of Health representatives.

Professor David Roder


Assoc. Professor Claire Vajdic (Deputy Chairperson)

Research Experience

Dr Lara Harvey (Deputy Chairperson)

Research Experience

Dr Malcolm Gillies

Research Experience

Dr Kathryn Williams

Research Experience

Dr Xiaoqi Feng

Research Experience

Ms Patricia Marinovic


Ms Jacqui Mitchell


Mr Joseph Furolo

Lay Member

Ms Kirrily Thornton-Parkes

Lay Member

Ms Rosie Vidovic

Professional Care

Ms Ely Taylor

Professional Care

Ms Veronica Necyporuk

Pastoral Care

Mr Tim Harrold

NSW Ministry of Health - Population & Public Health and Chief Health Officer nominee

Ms Anna Sordo

NSW Ministry of Health - Biostatistics Officer Trainee

Ms Charmaine Griffiths

NSW Ministry of Health nominee - Public Health Officer Trainee